Participating Scientists


David Haussler, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of California, Santa Cruz

Stephen J. O'Brien, Laboratory of Genomic Diversity, National Cancer Institute

Oliver A. Ryder, San Diego Zoo, Institute for Conservation Research, San Diego, CA

Committee chairs

F. Keith Barker, Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior, University of Minnesota

Andrew J. Crawford, Departamento de Ciencias Biológicas, Universidad de los Andes, Bogotá, Colombia

Robert Hanner, Biodiversity Institute of Ontario, University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Olivier Hanotte, The Frozen Ark Project, School of Biology, University of Nottingham

Warren E. Johnson, Laboratory of Genomic Diversity, National Cancer Institute, Frederick, MD

Jimmy A. McGuire, Museum of Vertebrate Zoology and Department of Integrative Biology, University of California, Berkeley

Webb Miller, Biology Department, Pennsylvania State University

Robert W. Murphy, Department of Natural History, Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto, Canada

William J. Murphy, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences, Texas A&M University

Frederick H. Sheldon, Museum of Natural Science and Department of Biological Sciences, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA

Barry Sinervo, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of California, Santa Cruz

Byrappa Venkatesh, Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Agency for Science, Technology and Research, Biopolis, Singapore

Edward O. Wiley, Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Kansas


Fred W. Allendorf
George Amato Charles Scott Baker
Aaron Bauer Albano Beja-Pereira Eldredge Bermingham
Giacomo Bernardi Cibele R. Bonvicino Sydney Brenner
Terry Burke Joel Cracraft Mark Diekhans
Scott Edwards Per G. P. Ericson Andrew J. Crawford
James Estes Jon Fjeldsa Nate Flesness
Tony Gamble Philippe Gaubert Alexander S. Graphodatsky
Jennifer A. Marshall-Graves Eric D. Green Richard E. Green
Shannon Hackett Paul Hebert Kristofer M. Helgen
Leo Joseph Joseph Bailey Kessing David M. Kingsley
Harris A. Lewin Gordon Luikart Paolo Martelli
Miguel A.M. Moreira Ngan Nguyen Guillermo Ortí
Brian L. Pike David Michael Rawson Stephan C. Schuster
Héctor N. Seuánez H. Bradley Shaffer Mark S Springer
Joshua Michael Stuart Joanna Sumner Emma Teeling
Robert C. Vrijenhoek Robert D. Ward Wesley C. Warren
Robert Wayne Terrie M. Williams Nathan D. Wolfe
Ya-Ping Zhang    

 New participants

 Erich Jarvis

2011 G10K Supporters

  • California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences (QB3)
  • American Genetic Association (AGA)
  • Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI)
  • Illumina
  • Life Technologies
  • The Wellcome Trust
  • Genome Canada


 BGI logo


Previously known as Beijing Genomics Institute, BGI and The Genome 10K Consortium of Scientists (G10KCOS) together announced a plan to sequence the genomes of the first 101 vertebrate species using BGI's facilities and infrastructure of next sequencing technology and bioinformatics platform by the end of 2012.

Earth Microbiome Project logo

Earth Microbiome Project

The Genome 10K project is coordinating with the Earth Microbiome Project to also characterize the native microbiome of vertebrate species.

The Assemblathon

The Assemblathon

The Assemblathon is a collaborative effort to help improve methods of genome assembly. Hopefully, it will be become an annual event that will spur improvements in this computationally intensive field. The goal is to have groups of people try to use their own software to each assemble one or more genomes that the organizers of the Assemblathon will make available (see the rules for more details). All participants will have the same amount of time to try to assemble the genomes, and then the organizers will evaluate each group's efforts. In March 2011, there will be a Genome 10K Assembly Workshop in Santa Cruz, California where participants and organizers will meet to discuss what they have learned from the experiment.